Christ’s Claim To His Deity

And Moses said unto God, Behold, when I come unto the children of Israel, and shall say unto them, The God of your fathers hath sent me unto you; and they shall say to me, What is his name? What shall I say unto them? 

And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.

And God said moreover unto Moses, Thou shalt say unto the children of Israel, The LORD God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, hath sent me unto you: this is my name forever, and this is my memorial unto all generations. (Exodus 3:13-15 KJV)

The name of God, I AM THAT I AM, speaks volumes of God. God the self existent; He is the uncaused cause of all things. There was no one before God, no one called Him into existence. He has always been, God the eternal, with no beginning and no end. God has always existed from eternity past. There is no set moment in time when God came into existence, for He has always been, and He will continue to exist outside of time, for all eternity.

These are two concepts that the theologians would call attributes of God; His self existence, and His eternal being. No one else can make claim to these two things, they belong to God alone. There is no man, no woman, who ever have existed upon this planet, or who ever will, that can lay claim to these two divine attributes.

There was one however who we read about in John’s gospel. His name is Jesus, and listen to the statement He makes to the religious people of His day, 

Your father Abraham rejoiced to see my day: and he saw it, and was glad. Then said the Jews unto him, Thou art not yet fifty years old, and hast thou seen Abraham? Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham was, I am. Then they took up stones to cast at him: but Jesus hid himself, and went out of the temple, going through the midst of them, and so passed by. (John 8:56-59 KJV)

There is no mistaking the claim that Jesus was making here. He was boldly proclaiming His divinity by using the name of God, I AM. The people well understood what He meant by this, as they took up stones to stone Him for blasphemy, something they attempted on other occasions as well. Jesus was declaring His eternal, self existence, something that only God can rightfully claim. Abraham was born, lived on this earth, and then he died. Jesus has always been. He is the Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end, Who is, and was, and is to come (Rev 1:8). 

2 thoughts on “Christ’s Claim To His Deity

  1. John 18:3-8 (KJV) Judas then, having received a band of men and officers from the chief priests and Pharisees, cometh thither with lanterns and torches and weapons. Jesus therefore, knowing all things that should come upon him, went forth, and said unto them, Whom seek ye? They answered him, Jesus of Nazareth. Jesus saith unto them, I Am[he]. And Judas also, which betrayed him, stood with them. As soon then as he had said unto them, I Am [he], they went backward, and fell to the ground. Then asked he them again, Whom seek ye? And they said, Jesus of Nazareth. Jesus answered, I have told you that I Am [he]: (bold mine)

    The ‘he’ is not expressed in the Greek: and ‘I am’ to Jewish ears was the name of Jehovah. We have had the same expression several times in this Gospel (John 4:26), John 6:20, John 8:24; John 8:28; John 8:58, John 13:13 Source: Bible Hub http://biblehub.com/commentaries/john/18-5.htm

    \o/

    Like

Leave a Reply

